Academic Faculty - Department of Maritime Civilizations

Ruth Shahack-Gross

Prof. Ruth Shahack-Gross

Department Head

Research Areas: Understanding natural and anthropogenic processes that result in the formation of archaeological sites
Laboratory: Laboratory for Sedimentary Archaeology
Phone: +972-54-760-8637   
Office: 116, Multipurpose Building
Email: rgross@univ.haifa.ac.il

Assaf Yasur-Landau Photo

Prof. Assaf Yasur-Landau

Research Areas: The ties between the Aegean and the Levant, maritime trade, coastal survey and Canaanite and Phoenician culture
Laboratory: The Laboratory of Coastal Archaeology and Underwater Survey
Phone: +972-4-78249934   
Office: 106, Multipurpose Building
Email: assafyasur@hotmail.com

Dr. Gil Gambash

Research Areas: Ancient Mediterranean societies, synthesizing aspects of imperialism, economy, culture, and environment.
Office: 110, Multipurpose Building
Email: ggambash@univ.haifa.ac.il

cvike

Prof. Deborah Cvikel

Research Areas: shipwrecks and shipbuilding of the Ottoman period (1516–1918), and contemporary maritime history of the region
Laboratory: Laboratory of Ancient Ship Construction
Phone: +972-4-8240475  
Office: 110, Multipurpose Building
Email: dcvikel@research.haifa.ac.il

dror

Prof. Dror Angel

Research Areas: Pelagic and benthic invertebrates, interactions between man and the marine environment and in finding practical (and sustainable) solutions to problems in the marine environment..
Laboratory: The Applied Marine Biology and Ecology Research (AMBER)
Phone: +972-4-8288130
Office: 6, Multipurpose Building
Email: dangel@univ.haifa.ac.il

Hassan_Photo

Dr. Hassan Khalilieh

Research Areas: History of Islamic maritime law, and Islamic law of the sea
Phone: +972-4-8240737
Office: 110, Multipurpose Building
Email:  khalilih@research.haifa.ac.il

David Friesem

Dr. David E. Friesem

Research Areas: Mediterranean Environmental History, Geoarchaeology, Anthropology
Laboratory: The Laboratory for Environmental Micro-History
Office: 111, Multipurpose building  
Email: dfriesem@univ.haifa.ac.il

Dr. Emmanuel Nantet

Research Areas: Maritime archaeology, specialization in ancient ships
Laboratory: Laboratory for Nautical Archaeology and History
Phone: +972-4-6146252
Office: 9, Multipurpose Building
Email: enantet@univ.haifa.ac.il

Dr. Nimrod Marom

Research Areas: Archaeozoology
Laboratory: Laboratory of Mediterranean Archeozoology (MAR)
Phone: +972-4-6647902
Office: 112, Multipurpose Building
Email: nmarom@marsci.haifa.ac.il

Sariel_Shalev1

Prof. (Emeritus) Sariel Shalev

Research Areas: Archaeology of metals and metallurgy in ancient Israel and the Levant
Laboratory: Archaeomaterials Laboratory
Phone: +972-4-8288060
Email: sariel.shalev@univ.haifa.ac.il

ehud_shpania

Prof. (Emeritus) Ehud Spanier

Research Areas: Ecology, behavior and behavioral ecology of marine fish and invertebrates (especially lobsters), ecology of artificial reefs, biogeography of marine animals and biology of invasive marine organisms
Email: spanier@research.haifa.ac.il

michal_artzi

Prof. (Emeritus) Michal Artzy

Research Areas: coastal and underwater archaeology, especially of the Carmel Coast
Email: martzy@research.haifa.ac.il

Mart_Yossi

Prof. (Emeritus) Yossi Mart

Research Areas: Various phenomena associated with oceanic subduction, with continental break-up and rifting, with the sedimentological regime in the SE Mediterranean basin during the Oligo-Miocene, and with recent and sub-recent climate changes and their subsequent sealevel variations.
Email: y.mart@research.haifa.ac.il

sivan_dorit

Prof. (Emeritus) Dorit Sivan

Research Areas: Determining historical and prehistoric sea levels and how these relate to human civilizations.
Email: dsivan@research.haifa.ac.il